Economics Department Scholarships

To apply for these awards, complete an application form (available from the department) and submit to the Economics Department by 31 March 2017. 

In addition, explore other general scholarships available through the UM Scholarship Portal 

Undergraduate Awards

Kain/McKay Economics Scholarship

The Kain/McKay Scholarship is awarded yearly to an outstanding Economics undergraduate student.  Ronald S. Kain graduated from the University of Montana in 1922 in Journalism. His wife, Olive McKay, graduated from the University of Montana in 1924 with honors in History. Mr. Kain wanted the scholarship name to reflect and honor his parents, Henry and Fannie Clift Kain, and his wife's parents, Daniel and Jessie McKay, all of whom were Montana pioneers.

Amount Available for AY2017-2018: $1,000

Louis F. Kinney Economics Scholarship  

The Louis F. Kinney fund provides a scholarship to a senior student majoring in economics who is a Montana resident from a community with a population of 10,000 or fewer residents.

Amount Available for AY2017-2018: TBD

Taher-Dalenberg Scholarship in Economics

The Taher-Dalenberg Scholarship in Economics will provide scholarships to University of Montana undergraduate student in the Department of
Economics who is a juniors or senior majoring in Economics and has financial need as determined by the Financial Aid Office or its equivalent in existence at the time of the award. Applicants must submit an essay with a topic to be determined by the chair of the Department of Economics and/or selection committee.

Amount Available for AY2017-2018: $1,000

Graduate Awards

J.H.T. Ryman Fellowship

In 1926, J.H.T. Ryman established an endowed fellowship fund to encourage University of Montana graduates to pursue graduate work in Economics.

Amount Available for AY2017-2018 = TBD

Martin and Rhoda Farris Scholarship in Economics   

The purpose of this fund is to provide an annual award to a senior or graduate student at UM who is pursuing higher education in economics. The recipient must be considered by a faculty committee to have the greatest potential for graduate study in economics. The recipient's name is to be engraved on a plaque bearing the scholarship name.

Amount Available for AY2017-2018 = $1,575