Conservation Directory

Montana Conservation Citizen Groups and Agencies

The Conversation Directory provides links to community groups, nonprofit businesses, and government agencies with roles in conservation or public health protection. Many of these groups were started by Environmental Studies alumni, and most of them provide internships, volunteer and/or employment opportunities to Environmental Studies students and alumni.  Below are links to 4 alphabetical lists of Montana conservation groups and agencies.

A - F

LINKS to web pages or contact information

500 Women Scientists MT  local contact

1000 New Gardens | 1000newgardens@gmail.com

350 Missoula | info@350Missoula.org

Aldo Leopold Wilderness Research Inst.

Alliance for the Wild Rockies | awr@wildrockiesalliance.org

Alternative Energy Resources Organization | aero@aeromt.org

Arthur Carhart National Wilderness Training Center

Association of Montana Floodplain Managers

Backcountry Hunters and Anglers, Montana Chapter

Beaverhead - Deerlodge National Forest

Beekeepers of the Bitterroot | bitterrootbees@gmail.com | 406-381-3053

Big Hole River Foundation | bhrf@bhrf.org

Big Sky Documentary Film Festival

Big Sky Institute

Bike Walk Alliance-Msl

Birch Creek Ed. Center - W. MT College | birchcreek@umwestern.edu

Bitterroot Ecological Awareness Resources

Bitterroot Water Forum

Bitterroot Producers Directory | local food & more

Blackfoot Challenge | (406) 793-3900

Bob Marshall Wilderness Foundation

Boone & Crockett Club | bcclub@boone-crockett.org

Bureau of Land Management W. Mt | BLM_MT_Missoula_FO@blm.gov

Cabinet Resource Group

Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society, BC

Center for Wildlife Info

Cinnabar Foundation

Clark Fork Kootenai River Basins Council

Clark Fork Coalition | info@clarkfork.org

Clark Fork River Technical Assistance Committee

Clark Fork Watershed Education Program

Clearsky Climate Solutions | info@clearskyclimatesolutions.com

Climate Smart Missoula

Community Action for Justice in the Americas, Africa & Asia (CAJA3)

Community Food & Agriculture Coalition | general email: cfacinfo@missoulacfac.org | volunteer email: volunteers@missoulacfac.org

Craighead Env. Research Institute | info@craigheadinstitute.org

Crop Swap -- trade or donate your surplus crops

Defenders of Wildlife, MT | defenders@mail.defenders.org

Diversified Integrated Resiliency Training (DIRT) Centerinfo@dirtcenter.org

Ecology Project International | info@ecologyproject.org

Earth Care | earthcaremt@gmail.com

EarthWorks, MT office | bgestring@earthworksaction.org | 406-549-7361

Environment Montana | anneli@environmentamerica.org

Faith and Climate Action

Five Valleys Audubon | info@fvaudubon.org

Five Valleys Land Trust | fvlt@montana.com

Five Valleys Seed Library |at Missoula Public Library, 301 E. Main | fivevalleysseedlibrary@gmail.com

Flathead Audubon | fwsbob@gmail.com

Flathead Basin Commission

Flathead Coalition

Flathead Lake BioStation, UM | flbs@umontana.edu

Flathead Lakers

Flathead National Forest

Flathead Wild

Footloose Montana

Forward Montana | info@forwardmontana.org

Free Cycles | mist@strans.org | Free Cycles YouTube

Freedom Gardens  freedomgardensmt@gmail.com

Friends of the Bitterroot | PO Box 442 or 615 Pinckney St, Hamilton, Mt 59840 | (406) 363-4349

Friends of the Clearwater

Friends of the Wild Swan | wildswan@wildswan.org

Friends of Two Rivers

M - R

LINKS to web pages or contact information

Missoula Butterfly House & Insectarium  insecteducation@gmail.com

Missoula Conservation Roundtable | ross@mtvoters.org

Missoula Green House-Energy Conservation Team

Missoula Env. Health Dept | envhealth@co.missoula.mt.u

Missoula Foodshed email

Missoula in Motion | mim@missoulainmotion.com

Msla Institute for Sustainable Transportation | mist@strans.org

Missoula Moves to Amend | missoula@movetoamend.org | Facebook page

Missoula Neighborhood Councils | neighborhoods@ci.missoula.mt.us

Missoula Open Space Program

Missoula Outdoor Learning Adventure | info@missoulaoutdoors.com

Missoula City Planning  |  Missoula County Planning

Missoula Time Bank | info@missoulatimebank.org

Missoula Urban Demo Project MUD | info@mudproject.org

Missoula Water Quality District

Missouri River Conservation Districts | mrcdc@missouririvercouncil.info

MT Asso. of Conservation Districts | mail@macdnet.org

MT Audubon | mtaudubon@mtaudubon.org

MT Conservation Corps

MT Conservation Voters | tkeaveny@mtvoters.org

MT Co-op | info@montanacoop.com

MT Dept. of Agriculture | agr@mt.gov

MT Dept of Environmental Quality

MT Dept of Fish, Wildlife & Parks | fwpgen@mt.gov

MT Dept. Natural Resources & Conservation

MT Env. Education Association

MT Environmental Info Center | meic@meic.org

MT Environmental Quality Council

MT Env. Training Center | metc@msun.edu

Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks

Montana Green Party

MT Green Power

MT Invasive Species Council

MT League of Women Voters

MT Native Plant Society | mnps.cf@gmail.com

MT Natural Heritage Programmtnhp@mt.gov

MT Natural History Center | (406) 327-0405

MT Organic Association    

MT Outdoor Science School | admin@outdoorscience.org

MT Public Interest Research Group | montpirg@pirg.org 

MT PIRG students | info@montpirgstudents.org

MT Renewable Energy Association | info@montanarenewables.org

MT River Action Network | info@montanariveraction.org

MT Recreation & Parks Assn

MT Shares | shares@montanashares.org

MT Trout Unlimited | info@montanatu.org

MT Water Center | water@montana.edu

MT Watercourse    mtwatercourse.org

MT Watershed Coordination Council | info@mtwatersheds.org

MT Wilderness Association | mwa@wildmontana.org

Montanans for Healthy Rivers

Montanans for Safe Wildlife Passage

Moon-Randolph Historic Homestead | moonrandolph@gmail.com

National Center for Appropriate Technology | 4info@ncat.org

National Forest Foundation

National Parks Conservation Association

National Wildlife Federation - N. Rockies

Native Action | gailsmall001@aol.com

Nature Conservancy, MT | rjeo@tnc.org 

New Dawn Farm Sanctuary

North Fork Compact

North Fork Landowners' Association

North Fork News

North Fork Trails Association

Northwest Connectionsinfo@northwestconnections.org

Northern Plains Resource Council | info@northernplains.org

Northern Rockies Bioneers | sam@porterhouseproductions.com

Northern Rockies Conservation Cooperative | nrcc@nrccooperative.org

Northern Rockies Rising Tide | northernrockiesrisingtide@gmail

Occupy Helena

Occupy Missoula | occupymissoula@gmail.com

Opportunity Citizens Protective Assn

Park County Environmental Council | reilly@envirocouncil.org

Permaculture Missoula

Pheasants Forever, Central MT | contact@pheasantsforever.org

Pine Butte Swamp Preserve, TNC

Planned Parenthood Generation Action at UM| ppgamontana@gmail.com

Property & Environment Research Center (PERC) | perc@perc.org

Rattlesnake Creek Watershed Group | rattlesnakecreek.watershedgroup@gmail.com

Red Rock Lakes National Wildlife Refuge | redrocks@fws.gov

Reinvest Montana | reinvestmontana@gmail.com

River Management Society | rms@river-management.org

Rock Creek Alliance | info@rockcreekalliance.org

Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation | info@rmef.org

Rocky Mtn Research Station

Roundtable on the Crown of the Continent

S - Z

LINKS to web pages or contact information

SAVE =Students against Violating the Env. (Hellgate High) | lbrown@mcps.k12.mt.us | doberbillig@mcps.k12.mt.us

SAVE Foundation | recycle@savemobile.org

Save Our Amazing Planet SOAP

Seedlings of Change | www.facebook.com/SeedlingsofChange

Sierra Club MT | david.merrill@sierraclub.org

Sierra Club BC - Flathead River Valley information

Society for Conservation Biology, MTmtscb.web@gmail.com

Sonoran Institute |

Student Conservation Society | ask-us@thesca.org

Sustainable Business Council, Msl | info@sustainablebusinesscouncil.org

Sustainable Living Systems | jill@sustainablelivingsystems.org

Swan Ecosystem Centerinfo@swanecosystemcenter.org

Swan View Coalition | swanview@swanview.org

Teller Wildlife Refugemainoffice@tellerwildlife.org

Transition Missoula | gcbrown@bresnan.net

Trees for Missoula | P.O. Box 18280, Missoula, MT 59808 

Trust MT | nmcdc@montana.com

Two Rivers History | bonnermilltownhistorycenter@gmail.com

UM Air & Waste Management Association | matthew.ferguson@umontana.edu

UM Beekeeping

UM Center for Env. Health | cehs@mso.umt.edu

UM Ch. American Fisheries Society | umfisheries@gmail.com

UM CAN (Climate Action Now) | umclimateactionnow@gmail.com

UM Environmental Studies | evst@mso.umt.edu

UM Foodshed email

UM Real Food Challenge | natasha.hegmann@mso.umt.edu

UM Recycling | UM_Recycle@mso.umt.edu

UM Society for Ecological Restoration | umt.restoration@gmail.com

UM Students for Peace & Justice

UM Sustainability Office | asum.sustain@mso.umt.edu

UM Watershed Health Clinic | email

UM Wilderness Association   Facebook Page zporter@wildmontana.org

US Geological Survey in MT | dc_mt@usgs.gov

Waterkeeper Alliance Affiliate Program | bmihailovich@waterkeeper.org

Watershed Education Network | water@montanawatershed.org

Watershed Institute

Waterton Lakes National Park of Canada

Western MT Fish & Game Association

Western MT Growers Coop | grower@wmgcoop.com

Western MT Mycological Association | fungus@fungaljungal.org

Western Organization of Resource Councils | billings@worc.org

Western Watersheds Project

Whitefish Lake Institute | info@whitefishlake.org

Wild Earth Guardians (formerly Wildlands CPR)

Wild Rockies Field Institute | wrfi@wrfi.net

Wilderness Information Network

Wilderness Institute | wi@cfc.umt.edu

Wilderness Land Trust | reid@wildernesslandtrust.org

Wilderness Society, N. Rockies | action@tws.org

Wilderness Treatment Center

Wilderness Watch | wild@wildernesswatch.org

Wildsight

Wildwest Institute | info@wildwestinstitute.org

Women's Voices for the Earth WVE | womensvoices@womensvoices.org

Worldwide Film Expedition | now@worldwidefilmexpedition.org

Yellowstone Buffalo Foundation | info@YellowstoneBuffaloFoundation.org

Yellowstone Ecological Research Center | info@yellowstoneresearch.org

Yellowstone to Yukon | info@y2y.net