Faculty & Staff

Staff

Karin Schalm

Karin Schalm

Office: Liberal Arts 117 & Stone Hall 208
Email: karin.schalm@umontana.edu

Professors

Sarah J. Halvorson

Sarah J. Halvorson Professor

Office: Stone Hall 211
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: sarah.halvorson@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Water Resource Geography, Hazards and Disasters, Mountain Geography, Gender and the Environment, Central and South Asia.


Anna Klene

Anna Klene Professor

Office: Stone Hall 216
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: anna.klene@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Arctic and Alpine Environments, Climatology, Cryosphere, Geomorphology, Modeling, Remote Sensing.


David Shively

David Shively Professor and Chair

Office: Stone Hall 212
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: david.shively@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Environmental Geography, Geomorphology, Spatial/Land Use Planning, Water Resources, Watershed Management.


Christiane von Reichert

Christiane von Reichert Professor

Office: Stone Hall 210
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: c.vonreichert@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Rural Communities and Landscapes, Socio-demographic Analysis, Community Change and Planning, Rural Return Migration, Rural Economies and Livelihoods, Qualitative and Quantitative Methods, Transportation GIS.


Assistant Professors

Post-Doc

Active Emeritus Professor

Jeffrey Gritzner

Jeffrey Gritzner Emeritus Professor

Office: Stone Hall 204
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: jeffrey.gritzner@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Environmental change & restoration, Africa & Middle East


Lecturers

Rick Graetz

Rick Graetz Lecturer

Office: Stone Hall 307A
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: rick.graetz@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Mountain Geography, Crown of the Continent, United States, Geographical Education, Historical Geography.


Adjunct

John DiBari

John DiBari Adjunct Professor

Office: Stone 207
Email: john.dibari@mso.umt.edu

Rebecca Kranitz

Rebecca Kranitz Adjunct


Affiliates

Heather Almquist

Heather Almquist Faculty Affiliate

Email: heather.almquist@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Geoscience and Geospatial Education, Paleoecology, Historical Geography.


Claudia J. Carr

Claudia J. Carr Associate Professor of Environmental Science

Office: 137 Giannini Hall, UC-Berkeley, CA
Email: claudiacarr@berkeley.edu
Specialization: 

International and Rural Resource Development


Zachary A. Holden

Zachary A. Holden Ecologist

Office: 200 East Broadway St.
Email: zaholdenfs@gmail.com
Specialization: 

Ecology, Climate, Climate Change,  Remote Sensing, biogeography, fire ecology


Kevin McManigal

Kevin McManigal Affiliate

Office: Stone Hall 206
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: kevin.mcmanigal@mso.umt.edu
Specialization: 

Cartography, GIS, Remote Sensing, Mountain Geography, Glaciology


Irena Mrak

Irena Mrak Assistant Research Professor

Office: Department of Geography, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Email: irena.mrak@siol.net
Specialization: 

Geomorphology, Glaciology, Hazards, "High" Asia, Mountain Geography.


Fernando Sanchez

Fernando Sanchez Affiliate

Office: Stone Hall 207
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: Fernando.Sanchez@mso.umt.edu
Specialization: 

Spatial-Temporal Data Analysis; Computer Applications to Social Sciences; GIS Programming; Soft Systems; Public Participation