About the Humanities Institute

Brantly Hall at summer

Drawing on a rich tradition of teaching and scholarship in the humanities at the University of Montana, the Humanities Institute fosters provocative thinking, innovative research, and sustained public discussion of the human experience, including serious reflection on the past, present, and future. The Institute’s activities encompass traditional humanities disciplines including history, languages, literature, philosophy, and religious studies, as well as critical studies of the arts and models of inquiry that cross disciplinary boundaries and develop new approaches, including work in the digital humanities.

The Humanities Institute supports humanistic work that takes place throughout the University, and welcomes initiatives and approaches that bridge traditional humanities fields with the visual and performing arts, with journalism and political science, and with the natural sciences, and that generate public discussion about the importance of the humanities in the contemporary world.

Led by faculty, the Institute is funded primarily by grants and private donations, and is structured to bring new research opportunities to students and faculty and to promote scholarship in the humanities at UM. The Institute creates opportunities for vigorous intellectual exchange and provides venues for public discussion about the humanities, including sustained interaction with the wider community of Missoula and Montana, as well as contact with scholars in different disciplines and from other institutions.

 

Faculty Advisory Board

Benedicte Boisseron Associate Professor, French

Office: LA 440
Email: benedicte.boisseron@mso.umt.edu

Anya Jabour Regents Professor of History

Office: LA 262
Email: anya.jabour@umontana.edu

Ashby Kinch Professor (English)

Office: LA 133-B (Main English Office)
Email: ashby.kinch@mso.umt.edu

Nathaniel B. Levtow Director, Humanities Institute; Associate Professor, Global Humanities and Religions

Office: LA 156
Email: nathaniel.levtow@umontana.edu
Fax: 406-243-5313

Bernadette Sweeney Associate Professor of Theatre

Office: McGill 212B
Email: bernadette1.sweeney@umontana.edu

Robert Tuck Assistant Professor, Japanese

Office: LA 318
Email: robert.tuck@mso.umt.edu

Theodore Van Alst Associate Professor & Chair

Office: 203B
Email: theodore.vanalst@umontana.edu
Fax: 406.243.6432