Faculty in the Department of History

Professors

Claire Rydell Arcenas Assistant Professor of History; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Office: LA 261
Email: claire.arcenas@umontana.edu
Field of Study:

American History; Intellectual History; History of Political Thought and Politics; History of Education; History of the Atlantic World; Historiography; Digital Humanities.


Scott Arcenas Assistant Professor of History

Office: LA 263
Email: scott.arcenas@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

European History; Political, Economic, and Social History of the Ancient Mediterranean; Digital History; Ancient Historiography; Greek and Latin Literature


Richard Drake Lucile Speer Research Chair in Politics and History

Office: University Hall 314
Email: richard.drake@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

By appointment in the fall.

Field of Study:

Modern European Social, Cultural, and Intellectual History; Italian History; Terrorism; Contemporary Europe; Historiography; Modern American Foreign Policy


John Eglin Professor of History

Office: LA 255
Email: john.eglin@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Autumn Semester 2018: 1-2 PM MWF, or by appointment, or by accident.

Field of Study:

Early Modern European History, particularly Great Britain; Cultural History


Robert H. Greene Associate Professor of History

Office: LA 257A
Email: robert.greene@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Fall 2020: I am teaching remotely. I am available for meetings with students throughout the week by appointment, via Zoom

 

Field of Study:

Cultural, Political, and Social History of Russia and the Soviet Union; Religious History


Anya Jabour Regents Professor of History

Office: LA 254
Email: anya.jabour@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Office Hours: MWF 10-11, and by appointment

Field of Study:

U.S. Social, Political, and Cultural History; Women, Family, Gender, and Sexuality; The American South; Progressive Era and New Deal


Mehrdad Kia Professor of History; Director, Central and Southwest Asian Studies Center

Office: Stone Hall 303C
Email: mehrdad.kia@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

Tuesday and Thursday, 3:30-5pm and by appointment

Field of Study:

Middle Eastern History; Central Asia; North Africa; Islamic Civilization


Nathaniel B. Levtow Associate Professor of History; Associate Professor of World Languages and Cultures; Director, Global Humanities and Religions

Office: LA 150
Email: nathaniel.levtow@umontana.edu
Field of Study:

History of Religion; Biblical Studies


Michael Mayer Professor of History

Office: LA 253
Email: michael.mayer@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

MWF 3:00-4:00

Field of Study:

United States since 1945; History of American Law; U.S. Civil Rights Movement; Post-World War II American Culture


Jody Pavilack Associate Professor of History; Director of Graduate Studies

Office: LA 265
Email: jody.pavilack@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

Modern Latin American History; Social, Cultural, and Political History; Labor; Historical Memory


Tobin Miller Shearer Professor of History; Director of African-American Studies

Office: LA 262
Email: tobin.shearer@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Spring Semester 2020
Wednesdays, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 pm

And gladly by appointment.

Field of Study:

African-American History; Race; Religious History; Children's History; Anabaptist History; Civil Rights movement History; social movement history;


Kyle G. Volk Associate Professor of History; Chair of the Department of History

Office: LA 252
Email: kyle.volk@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Fall 2020: Tuesdays 12-2pm by appointment; and other times by appointment. All office-hour meetings will be conducted via Zoom, so please email me to make an appointment.

Field of Study:

United States History; Political, Intellectual, Social & Legal History; Democracy, Capitalism, and the American State; Public Policy & Political Economy; Civil Rights & Civil Liberties


Jeff Wiltse Professor of History

Office: LA 251
Email: jeff.wiltse@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

Wednesdays: 1:30-3:00 pm

Fridays: 10:00-11:00 am

Field of Study:

Modern American Social and Cultural History; Public Space and Public Life; Montana History


Visiting Faculty

Leif Fredrickson Visiting Assistant Professor of History

Office: LA 261
Email: leif.fredrickson@umconnect.umt.edu
Office Hours:

1:30-3:30pm (Thursday) or by appointment.

Field of Study:

Modern US History; Urban and Environmental History; Public History


Gillian Glaes Visiting Associate Professor of History

Office: LA 259
Email: gillian.glaes@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

T/TH 12:30-1:30 p.m. & by appointment (259 Liberal Arts)

Field of Study:

Modern Transnational and Global History; Europe, Africa, and Latin America; Postcolonialism and the State


James Koch Visiting Professor of History

Email: jkoch@odu.edu
Field of Study:

American Military History; World War II


Patrick O'Connor Visiting Assistant Professor of History

Email: patrick.oconnor@umontana.edu
Field of Study:

Modern US History; Political Economy, Politics, and the American State 


Research Faculty

Ted Catton
Associate Research Professor

Office: home
Email: ted.catton@umontana.edu
Field of Study:

History of conservation, Indians and the environment, the fur trade, National Park Service organizational history


Diane Krahe
Faculty Affiliate

Office: home
Email: dianekrahe@gmail.com
Field of Study:

Environmental History, Indian History, Public History, Wilderness


Steven I. Levine
Senior Fellow, Chinese History and Politics, and U.S.-China Relations

Email: steven.levine@mso.umt.edu

Affiliated Faculty

David Beck
Professor

Office: NAC 203D (closed) No in-person meetings, please e-mail
Email: dave.beck@mso.umt.edu

Wade Davies
Professor

Office: NAC 203A
Email: wade.davies@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

Navajo health and healing, Native American sports and games


Ardeshir Kia
Associate Director, Central and Southwest Asia Program

Office: Stone Hall 303B
Email: ardi.kia@mso.umt.edu

Adrea Lawrence
Dean & Professor, Phyllis J. Washington College of Education

Office: ED 321C
Email: adrea.lawrence@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

History of Education; American Indian History