Faculty in the Department of History

Department Chair

Kyle G. Volk Associate Professor of History; Chair of the Department of History

Office: LA 252
Email: kyle.volk@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Fall 2021: Mondays, 1-3pm; and by appointment. Office-hour meetings will be conducted in person, but I'm also available (by appointment) via Zoom (please use this link to enter the "waiting room").

Field of Study:
  • United States Political, Intellectual, and Legal History
  • Democracy, Capitalism, & the American State
  • Civil Rights & Civil Liberties
  • Law, Public Policy, & Political Economy

Professors

Claire Rydell Arcenas Assistant Professor of History; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Office: LA 261
Email: claire.arcenas@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Fall 2021: Tuesdays, 1-3pm; and by appointment. Office-hour meetings will be conducted in person, but I am also available to meet via Zoom by appointment (please use this link to enter the "waiting room").

Field of Study:

American History; Intellectual History; History of Political Thought and Politics; History of Education; History of the Atlantic World; Historiography; Digital Humanities.


Scott Arcenas Assistant Professor

Office: LA 263
Email: scott.arcenas@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

Wednesdays, 2:00-3:30, and by appointment

Field of Study:

European History; Political, Economic, and Social History of the Ancient Mediterranean; Digital History; Ancient Historiography; Greek and Latin Literature


Richard Drake Lucile Speer Research Chair in Politics and History

Office: University Hall 314
Email: richard.drake@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

I will be on research leave during fall 2021 and not available for regular office hours

Students wishing to confer with me may do so by appointment.

To arrange a Zoom or in-person meeting, you can reach me at 243-2981 and at richard.drake@umontana.edu. See the Zoom meeting link below.

I will be teaching in the spring of 2022 and will post regular office hours for that semester

https://umontana.zoom.us/j/98825074740?pwd=TEdZVFB0VCsyMzlrZE90S0RxZ1VWUT09

Field of Study:

Modern European Social, Cultural, and Intellectual History; Italian History; Terrorism; Contemporary Europe; Historiography; Modern American Foreign Policy


John Eglin Professor of History

Office: LA 255
Email: john.eglin@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

On Sabbatical, 2020-21

Field of Study:

Early Modern European History, particularly Great Britain; Cultural History


Anya Jabour Regents Professor of History

Office: LA 254
Email: anya.jabour@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Tuesdays, 1-2pm and by appointment. All office-hour meetings will be conducted via Zoom (use this link to enter the "waiting room").

Field of Study:

U.S. Social, Political, and Cultural History; Women, Family, Gender, and Sexuality; The American South; Progressive Era and New Deal


Mehrdad Kia Professor of History; Director, Central and Southwest Asian Studies Center

Office: Stone Hall 303C
Email: mehrdad.kia@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

Tuesday and Thursday, 3:30-5pm and by appointment

Field of Study:

Middle Eastern History; Central Asia; North Africa; Islamic Civilization


Nathaniel B. Levtow Associate Professor

Office: LA 150
Email: nathaniel.levtow@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Tuesdays and Thursdays 2:30 pm -  4:00 pm & by appointment.

Nathaniel's Zoom office hours link

 

Field of Study:

Ancient history; history of religion; biblical studies


Michael Mayer Professor of History

Office: LA 253
Email: michael.mayer@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

M 3:30-4:30, W 3:30-4:30, F 2:00-3:00

Field of Study:

United States since 1945; History of American Law; U.S. Civil Rights Movement; Post-World War II American Culture


Jody Pavilack Associate Professor of History; Director of Graduate Studies

Office: LA 265
Email: jody.pavilack@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

Mon, 9-10 & Wed, 11-12, on ZOOM:
Professor Pavilack's Zoom Link for office hours and meetings
Be patient in the waiting room. I will let you in or message you as as quickly as I can.
To meet in my office or via Zoom at a different time; email me.

 

 

Field of Study:

Modern Latin American History; Social, Cultural, and Political History; Labor; Historical Memory


Tobin Miller Shearer Professor of History; Director of African-American Studies

Office: LA 262
Email: tobin.shearer@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Spring Semester 2021
Wednesdays, 1-3:00 p.m.

Please use this Zoom link: https://umontana.zoom.us/j/93500992746

No appointment required but advance notice always appreciated.

And gladly by appointment.

Field of Study:

African-American History; Race; Religious History; Children's History; Anabaptist History; Civil Rights movement History; social movement history;


Jeff Wiltse Professor of History

Office: LA 251
Email: jeff.wiltse@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

 

 

Field of Study:
  • Modern American Social and Cultural History
  • Urban Public Space and Public Life
  • Montana History and History of the U.S. West

Visiting Faculty

Leif Fredrickson Visiting Assistant Professor of History

Office: LA 260
Email: leif.fredrickson@umconnect.umt.edu
Office Hours:

Tuesday 2pm-4pm or by appointment, via Zoom: Click to enter waiting room.

Field of Study:

Environmental, urban, social and political history. History of science and technology. Public history, digital humanities, spatial humanities. 


Gillian Glaes Visiting Associate Professor of History

Office: LA 259
Email: gillian.glaes@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

T/TH 12:30-1:30 p.m. & by appointment (via Zoom / Please email me for the link.)

Field of Study:

Modern Transnational and Global History; Europe, Africa, and Latin America; Postcolonialism and the State


James Koch Visiting Professor of History

Office: 240 Keith Avenue
Email: jkoch@odu.edu
Office Hours:

Wednesday 2-4 p.m. and by appointment.  We will meet in the UC.

Field of Study:

American Military History; World War II


Research Faculty

Ted Catton
Associate Research Professor

Office: home
Email: ted.catton@umontana.edu
Field of Study:

History of conservation, Indians and the environment, the fur trade, National Park Service organizational history


Diane Krahe
Faculty Affiliate

Office: home
Email: dianekrahe@gmail.com
Field of Study:

Environmental History, Indian History, Public History, Wilderness


Steven Levine
Senior Fellow, Chinese History and Politics, and U.S.-China Relations

Email: steven.levine@mso.umt.edu

Affiliated Faculty

David Beck
Professor

Office: NAC 203D (closed) No in-person meetings, please e-mail
Email: dave.beck@mso.umt.edu

Wade Davies
Professor

Office: NAC 203A
Email: wade.davies@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

Navajo health and healing, Native American sports and games


Ardeshir Kia
Associate Director, Central and Southwest Asia Program

Office: Stone Hall 303B
Email: ardi.kia@mso.umt.edu

Adrea Lawrence
Dean & Professor, Phyllis J. Washington College of Education

Office: ED 321C
Email: adrea.lawrence@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

History of Education; American Indian History