MCLL Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Elizabeth Ametsbichler Professor, German / MCLL Chair

Email: liz.ametsbichler@mso.umt.edu
Bio:

My areas of specialty include late 18th and 19th-century literature in German-speaking countries, women writers, and fin-de-siècle Vienna. As with my colleagues, I teach lower- and upper-division courses in language, literature, and culture. Until MCLL's M.A. program was put on hold, I supervised numerous theses for our graduate students, many of whom have gone on to PhD prgrams and recieved their doctorates. Starting in 2012, I was co-chair of MCLL until 2016. Since 2016, I have served as chair. 


Staff

Karen Blazevich Office Manager

Email: blazevichka@mso.umt.edu

Olivia White Administrative Associate II

Email: olivia.white@mso.umt.edu
Fax: 406 243-4076
Bio:

Olivia White has worked for the Department of Modern and Classical Languages for eight years.  She acts as general advisor for the department and coordinates FLL Day, MCLL's annual recruitment event.  


Faculty

Michihiro Ama Karashima Tsukasa Associate Professor of Japanese Language and Culture

Email: michihiro.ama@mso.umt.edu

Hiltrud Arens Professor, German

Email: hiltrud.arens@mso.umt.edu

Hayden Ausland Professor, Classics

Email: hayden.ausland@mso.umt.edu

Linda Bailey Lecturer, Spanish

Email: linda.bailey@mso.umt.edu

Samir Bitar Lecturer, Arabic

Email: samir.bitar@umontana.edu

Benedicte Boisseron Associate Professor, French

Email: benedicte.boisseron@mso.umt.edu

Maria Jose Bustos-Fernandez Professor, Spanish /Director Latin American Studies

Email: maria.bustos@mso.umt.edu

Zhen Cao Associate Professor, Chinese

Email: zhen.cao@mso.umt.edu

M. Ione Crummy Professor, French

Email: ione.crummy@mso.umt.edu

Brian Dowdle Assistant Professor, Japanese

Email: brian.dowdle@mso.umt.edu

Alicia Gignoux Lecturer, Spanish

Email: alicia.gignoux@mso.umt.edu

Khaled Huthaily Associate Professor: Arabic & Linguistics

Email: khaled.huthaily@umontana.edu

Mladen Kozul Associate Professor, French

Email: mladen.kozul@mso.umt.edu
Fax: (406) 243-4076

Clary Loisel Professor, Spanish

Email: clary.loisel@mso.umt.edu
Bio:

As a Full Professor of Spanish language, literature, and film, I specialize in gender issues in contemporary Mexican narrative and theater. The major themes of most of my upper-division classes address human rights issues.  Since 2001, I have directed seven study abroad programs (five to Mexico and two to Chile).  I also teach Latin American Studies and in 2014 attended classes in Portuguese at the Instituto Brasil-Estados Unidos in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, where I completed the equivalent of a BA in Portuguese from the University of Florida.  One of my next publications will be an anthology of Brazilian LGBT literature translated into English.  I received a Fulbright Scholarship  and will spend fall 2017 teaching at the Universidade de Minas Gerais in Belo Horizonte, Brazil.  


Manolita Lopez-Connor Adjunct Instructor, Spanish

Email: manolita.lopezconnor@mso.umt.edu

Marton Marko Associate Professor, German

Email: marton.marko@mso.umt.edu


Ona Renner-Fahey Associate Professor, Russian

Email: ona.renner@mso.umt.edu

Pablo E. Requena Assistant Professor, Spanish

Email: pablo.requena@mso.umt.edu
Bio:

I received a Ph.D. in Spanish Linguistics and Language Science from Penn State. At UM I teach general courses in Applied Linguistics (such as "Methods of Foreign Language Teaching" and Language Problems in the Real World"), courses in Spanish linguistics (such as Spanish Phonetics) and advanced Spanish classes. I also supervise service-learning opportunities for undergraduate students of Spanish and direct the Language Research Lab (LRL) where my students and I conduct research on the following topics: Morphosyntactic variation, Child language acquisition of variation, The role of animacy in language structure, Bilingualism and Bilingual language acquisition and L2 learning and teaching. For more information about my teaching and research, please visit my personal website: http://pablorequena.weebly.com/

 

 


Matthew Semanoff Associate Professor, Classics

Email: matthew.semanoff@mso.umt.edu

Robert Tuck Assistant Professor, Japanese

Email: robert.tuck@mso.umt.edu


Clint Walker Associate Professor, Russian

Email: clint.walker@mso.umt.edu

Barbara Weinlich Visiting Associate Professor, Classics

Email: barbara.weinlich@mso.umt.edu
Bio:

Reared in the U.S. and Germany and educated in four different countries, I earned my D. Phil. in Classics at the Johann Wolfgang Goethe Universität at Frankfurt / Main. I participated in two research projects in Germany before I moved back to the United States in 2001. Since then I have been pursuing my research and teaching at several American institutions, among others, at the University of California at Santa Barbara and Vanderbilt University.