Each spring, the Department of Sociology designates honorary recipients of the following awards from its graduating seniors.

Academic Excellence Award

This honor is awarded to students who take and succeed (with high academic performance) in a rigorous and demanding set of courses both inside and outside of the Sociology Department.

Past Winners

  • McKenna Stahlberg (2021)

Carly Christine Phillips Award in Applied Sociology

This award is presented in recognition of the successful application of research, skills, or knowledge of the discipline to the community, private organizations, or governmental bodies.

The award honors a former graduate student, Carly Phillips.  Carly devoted her life to applying sociological ideas to issues of social justice and inequality. Her paid and volunteer work focused on environmental education. She was especially passionate about helping children of color and low-income children in Montana access, and learn about, the natural world. 

Past Winners

  • Maggie Bornstein (2021)

Dusten Hollist Award for Contribution to Academic Programs in Sociology

This award is presented to students who are exemplary in serving as preceptors, assisting in classroom teaching, showing leadership in classes, participating in departmental committees, or performing other service to the academic program of the Sociology Department.

The award honors a former department chair and professor, Dr. Dusten Hollist, who was deeply committed to students, was an incredibly supportive mentor, and was a tireless and generous colleague. The Department of Sociology and the University of Montana as a whole was greatly enriched by his large, caring presence. 

Past Winners

  • Hunter Paulson (2021)
  • Spencer Sucha (2021)

Mortar Board Outstanding Senior Award

This award is given to students who demonstrate commitment to the discipline, or to the Student Sociology Organization through professional development, leadership and service. Mortar Board is a national honor society. 

Past Winners

General Sociology

  • Mary “Lee” Winter (2021)

Criminology Option

  • Katie Lindner (2021)

Inequality and Social Justice Option

  • McCall Burns (2021)