Faculty in the Department of History

Department Chair

Kyle G. Volk Associate Professor of History; Chair of the Department of History

Office: LA 252
Email: kyle.volk@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Spring 2021: Mondays, 3:30-5pm; and by appointment. All office-hour meetings will be conducted via Zoom (use this link to enter the "waiting room").

Field of Study:

United States History; Democracy, Capitalism, & the American State; Political, Intellectual, Social & Legal History; Public Policy & Political Economy; Civil Rights & Civil Liberties


Professors

Claire Rydell Arcenas Assistant Professor of History; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Office: LA 261
Email: claire.arcenas@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Spring 2021, via Zoom!

Please e-mail me for an appointment.

Field of Study:

American History; Intellectual History; History of Political Thought and Politics; History of Education; History of the Atlantic World; Historiography; Digital Humanities.


Scott Arcenas Assistant Professor

Office: LA 263
Email: scott.arcenas@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

Wednesdays, 2-4, and by appointment

Field of Study:

European History; Political, Economic, and Social History of the Ancient Mediterranean; Digital History; Ancient Historiography; Greek and Latin Literature


Richard Drake Lucile Speer Research Chair in Politics and History

Office: University Hall 314
Email: richard.drake@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

MWF 10-10:50 and by appointment:

Join Zoom Meeting link Spring semester 2021

https://umontana.zoom.us/j/98825074740?pwd=TEdZVFB0VCsyMzlrZE90S0RxZ1VWUT09

Field of Study:

Modern European Social, Cultural, and Intellectual History; Italian History; Terrorism; Contemporary Europe; Historiography; Modern American Foreign Policy


John Eglin Professor of History

Office: LA 255
Email: john.eglin@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

On Sabbatical, 2020-21

Field of Study:

Early Modern European History, particularly Great Britain; Cultural History


Anya Jabour Regents Professor of History

Office: LA 254
Email: anya.jabour@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Tuesdays, 1-2pm and by appointment. All office-hour meetings will be conducted via Zoom (use this link to enter the "waiting room").

Field of Study:

U.S. Social, Political, and Cultural History; Women, Family, Gender, and Sexuality; The American South; Progressive Era and New Deal


Mehrdad Kia Professor of History; Director, Central and Southwest Asian Studies Center

Office: Stone Hall 303C
Email: mehrdad.kia@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

Tuesday and Thursday, 3:30-5pm and by appointment

Field of Study:

Middle Eastern History; Central Asia; North Africa; Islamic Civilization


Nathaniel B. Levtow Associate Professor

Office: LA 150
Email: nathaniel.levtow@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Tuesdays and Thursdays 3:30-5:00 & by email appointment.

Additional advising hours (Spring 2021): Mondays 2:30 - 3:30 & by email appointment.

Nathaniel's Zoom office hours link

 

Field of Study:

Ancient history; history of religion; biblical studies


Michael Mayer Professor of History

Office: LA 253
Email: michael.mayer@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

MWF 3:00-4:00

Field of Study:

United States since 1945; History of American Law; U.S. Civil Rights Movement; Post-World War II American Culture


Jody Pavilack Associate Professor of History; Director of Graduate Studies

Office: LA 265
Email: jody.pavilack@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

Professor Pavilack's Zoom link for office hours & meetings

SPRING 2021 OFFICE HOURS
Tues & Thurs, 12:30-1:30, via Zoom at this link:
I am also happy to meet by appointment; please email me to set up a time.

SPRING 2021 EXTRA OFFICE HOURS IN MARCH FOR ADVISING
W, 3/10, 1-2 pm
Th, 3/11, 1:30-2:30 pm
W, 3/17, 1-3 pm
W, 3/24, 1-3 pm

 

Field of Study:

Modern Latin American History; Social, Cultural, and Political History; Labor; Historical Memory


Tobin Miller Shearer Professor of History; Director of African-American Studies

Office: LA 262
Email: tobin.shearer@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Spring Semester 2021
Wednesdays, 1-3:00 p.m.

Please use this Zoom link: https://umontana.zoom.us/j/93500992746

No appointment required but advance notice always appreciated.

And gladly by appointment.

Field of Study:

African-American History; Race; Religious History; Children's History; Anabaptist History; Civil Rights movement History; social movement history;


Jeff Wiltse Professor of History

Office: LA 251
Email: jeff.wiltse@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

All office hours for the Fall 2020 semester will be conducted via Zoom.

Tuesdays: 2:00-3:00 pm (use this link to enter the "waiting room" for this time)

Thursdays: 10:00-11:00 pm (use this link to enter the "waiting room for this time)

 

Field of Study:

Modern American Social and Cultural History; Public Space and Public Life; Montana History


Visiting Faculty

Leif Fredrickson Visiting Assistant Professor of History

Office: LA 260
Email: leif.fredrickson@umconnect.umt.edu
Office Hours:

9am-11am (Thursday) or by appointment. *Remote via Zoom for 2020 and 2021. Click to enter waiting room.

Field of Study:

Modern US History; Urban and Environmental History; Public History


Gillian Glaes Visiting Associate Professor of History

Office: LA 259
Email: gillian.glaes@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

T/TH 12:30-1:30 p.m. & by appointment (via Zoom / Please email me for the link.)

Field of Study:

Modern Transnational and Global History; Europe, Africa, and Latin America; Postcolonialism and the State


James Koch Visiting Professor of History

Office: 240 Keith Avenue
Email: jkoch@odu.edu
Office Hours:

Wednesday 2-4 p.m. and by appointment.  We will meet in the UC.

Field of Study:

American Military History; World War II


Research Faculty

Ted Catton
Associate Research Professor

Office: home
Email: ted.catton@umontana.edu
Field of Study:

History of conservation, Indians and the environment, the fur trade, National Park Service organizational history


Diane Krahe
Faculty Affiliate

Office: home
Email: dianekrahe@gmail.com
Field of Study:

Environmental History, Indian History, Public History, Wilderness


Steven I. Levine
Senior Fellow, Chinese History and Politics, and U.S.-China Relations

Email: steven.levine@mso.umt.edu

Affiliated Faculty

David Beck
Professor

Office: NAC 203D (closed) No in-person meetings, please e-mail
Email: dave.beck@mso.umt.edu

Wade Davies
Professor

Office: NAC 203A
Email: wade.davies@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

Navajo health and healing, Native American sports and games


Ardeshir Kia
Associate Director, Central and Southwest Asia Program

Office: Stone Hall 303B
Email: ardi.kia@mso.umt.edu

Adrea Lawrence
Dean & Professor, Phyllis J. Washington College of Education

Office: ED 321C
Email: adrea.lawrence@mso.umt.edu
Field of Study:

History of Education; American Indian History