WLC Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Brian Dowdle Co-Chair, Associate Professor, Japanese

Email: brian.dowdle@mso.umt.edu

Matthew Semanoff Associate Professor, Classics

Email: matthew.semanoff@mso.umt.edu

Staff

Karen Boice Budget Analyst

Email: karen.boice@mso.umt.edu

Stacia Graham Administrative Associate

Email: Stacia.Graham@mso.umt.edu

Olivia White Academic Advisor

Email: olivia.white@mso.umt.edu
Fax: (406) 243-4076
Bio:

Olivia White has worked for the Department of Modern and Classical Languages for eight years.  She acts as general advisor for the department and coordinates FLL Day, MCLL's annual recruitment event.  


Faculty

Michihiro Ama Karashima Tsukasa Associate Professor of Japanese Language and Culture

Email: michihiro.ama@mso.umt.edu

Hiltrud Arens Professor, German

Email: hiltrud.arens@mso.umt.edu
Fax: 406-243-4076


Maria Jose Bustos-Fernandez Professor, Spanish /Director Latin American Studies

Email: maria.bustos@mso.umt.edu

Zhen Cao Associate Professor, Chinese

Email: zhen.cao@mso.umt.edu

Manolita Connor Adjunct Instructor, Spanish

Email: manolita.lopezconnor@mso.umt.edu

M. Ione Crummy Professor, French

Email: ione.crummy@mso.umt.edu

Micaela Downey Adjunct Instructor, Spanish

Email: micaela.downey@umontana.edu

Alice Harris Adjunct Instructor, Russian

Email: alice.harris@mso.umt.edu

Khaled Huthaily Associate Professor: Arabic & Linguistics

Email: khaled.huthaily@umontana.edu

Mladen Kozul Associate Professor, French

Email: mladen.kozul@mso.umt.edu


Clary Loisel Professor, Spanish

Email: clary.loisel@umontana.edu
Bio:

As a Full Professor of Spanish language, literature, and film, I specialize in gender issues in contemporary Mexican narrative and theater. The major themes of most of my upper-division classes address human rights issues.  Since 2001, I have directed seven study abroad programs (five to Mexico and two to Chile).  I also teach Latin American Studies and in 2014 attended classes in Portuguese at the Instituto Brasil-Estados Unidos in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, where I completed the equivalent of a BA in Portuguese from the University of Florida.  One of my next publications will be an anthology of Brazilian LGBT literature translated into English.  I received a Fulbright Scholarship and spent fall 2017 teaching two upper-division human rights courses (in Spanish) at the Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais in Belo Horizonte, Brazil.  


Anna Lokowich Adjunct Instructor, French

Email: anna.lokowich@umontana.edu
Fax: (406) 243-6194

Caroline Lonski Adjunct Instructor, Spanish

Email: caroline.lonski@mso.umt.edu

Marton Marko Associate Professor, German

Email: marton.marko@mso.umt.edu


Ona Renner-Fahey Associate Professor, Russian

Email: ona.renner@mso.umt.edu


Clint Walker Associate Professor, Russian

Email: clint.walker@mso.umt.edu