Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Gregory Larson Professor

Office: LA 345
Email: greg.larson@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

Fall 2021

Mondays from 11-12 and Wednesdays from 2- 3 p.m. and by appointment on Zoom.

 

 


Professors

Christina G. Yoshimura Professor of Communication Studies (M.A., Ph.D.) and Mental Health Counselor (M.A.)

Office: LA 358
Email: christina.yoshimura@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Please contact via email to schedule.


Sara Hayden Professor

Office: LA 346
Email: sara.hayden@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

Mondays and Wednesdays, 1:00-1:50 and by appointment

 

 


Joel Iverson Professor

Office: LA 359 and Zoom
Email: Joel.Iverson@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Office hours are interesting for Fall 2020. I have a wide array of availability by appointment for zoom or an outdoor walking meeting.

 


Steve Schwarze Professor

Office: LA 357
Email: steven.schwarze@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Wednesday 2-4 pm


Stephen Yoshimura Professor

Office: LA 347
Email: stephen.yoshimura@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

For current office hours and appointments, please email me at the above address.


Assistant Professors

Heather Voorhees Assistant Professor

Office: LA 356
Email: heather.voorhees@umt.edu
Office Hours:

You can find me in my office throughout the week, but particularly Tuesdays, from 2-4 p.m. You can also reach out to make an appointment. 


Adjunct Faculty

Phyllis Ngai Director, International Development Studies and Adjunct Associate Professor, Communication Studies

Office: Eck Hall/LA 415
Email: phyllis.ngai@umontana.edu
Office Hours:

Virtual Office Hours via Zoom

Tuesdays, 3:30 - 5:00 PM. 

And by appointment.


Staff

Karen Boice Administrative Associate

Office: LA 301
Email: karen.boice@umontana.edu

Tiana Jensen Undergraduate Academic Advisor

Office: LA 133
Email: tiana.jensen@mso.umt.edu
Office Hours:

I provide advising for undergraduate students interested in pursuing majors/minors in Anthropology, Economics, Linguistics, and Communication Studies.  Appointments can be made via Navigate, UM is no longer using Starfish. If you are unable to schedule an appointment via Navigate, please contact our front desk at HSAdvising@umontana.edu or (406) 243-4100 for scheduling assistance.

Masks are required for in-person appointments; I am also happy to help students via my Zoom Room, phone, or email. Scheduled meetings/calls are best since I may not be able to provide immediate assistance if I am helping another student at that time, please send me an email or schedule an appointment if that happens. Please remember all appointments are scheduled in the Mountain Time Zone.

Walk-in hours are open to my advisees on Mondays 11am-1pm and Thursdays 12pm-2pm; this time is available for quick questions only. All students must meet with their Primary Major Advisor to plan classes in order to receive a registration PIN for the upcoming term, students who need this PIN must schedule a regular advising appointment. Please familiarize yourself with DegreeWorksCourse Search, and how to register for classes, this will be very useful for advising discussions.